Skip to main content

Tyler Mallory, Greenville star, voted SBLive's National High School Boys Athlete of the Week (Jan. 9-15)

He dropped 40 points against Carroll

Greenville (Alabama) standout Tyler Mallory was voted SBLive's National High School Boys Basketball Player of the Week 

He received 27,482 votes, good enough for 46.2 percent of the total tally, after dropping 40 points in a game against Carroll. It's been that kind of season for Mallory, who already has a 57-point night under his belt in a loss to Jefferson Davis Nov. 18.

Mount Saint Joseph Academy (Vermont) senior Owen Traynor finished second in the voting after dropping a school record 53 points along with 12 boards in a win over Windsor. 

Scroll down for a look at the final vote tally and a breakdown of all the nominees.

Want to nominate an athlete in the future? Please email or tag us on Twitter or Instagram at @SBLiveSports.

Who should be SBLive's National High School Boys Basketball Player of the Week?

Jamicah Adair, Jefferson Davis (Alabama)

Adair had 31 points in a 63-54 victory over Enterprise.

Cameron Boozer, Columbus (Florida)

A five-star forward for the class of 2025, Boozer had 33 points, 15 rebounds, five assists, three blocks and two steals in a 74-67 win over San Ysidro and followed it up with another big performance in an upset win over Sierra Canyon at Hoophall Classic.

Jason Crowe Jr., Lynwood (California)

The freshman scored 41 points in a 61-60 loss to St. Monica. Crowe Jr. already holds an offer from UCLA

Cooper Flagg, Montverde Academy (Florida)

One of the country’s top sophomores along with Cam Boozer, Flagg also put on a show at the Hoophall Classic. Flagg filled up the stat sheet with 21 points, five rebounds, three assists and five steals in an 85-63 win over La Lumiere.

Ethan Gallagher, Legacy Academy (Arkansas)

Gallagher was unstoppable in an 84-83 loss to Christian Ministries Academy, recording 42 points and 20 rebounds.

Deshawn Harris-Smith, St. Paul VI (Virginia)

Harris-Smith did a little bit of everything at the Hoophall Classic, recording 23 points, 11 rebounds, seven assists and four steals in a 72-59 win over Roselle Catholic. ESPN NBA Draft analyst Jonathan Givony said Harris-Smith’s performance was the most impressive he’d seen at the Hoophall.

Bronny James, Sierra Canyon (California)

Read More

On senior night at Sierra Canyon, LeBron and Savannah James watched Bronny put up 18 points, eight rebounds and seven assists in a 71-52 win over Loyola.

Tyler Mallory, Greenville (Alabama)

Mallory’s 40 points weren’t enough as Greenville dropped a 63-61 decision to Carroll.

Jared McCain, Corona Centennial (California)

The five-star Duke signee netted a game-high 27 points as No. 10 Corona Centennial defeated No. 11 Camden 66-62 at the Hoophall Classic.

Ty Price, Butler County (Kentucky)

Price led all scorers with 35 points in an 84-81 loss to Greenwood, while passing the career 1,000 points club as a sophomore.

Derek Rockett, Higbee (Missouri)

Rockett notched a new career high with 42 points in a 76-62 win over Prairie Home.

Gerron Trapps, Peoria Manual (Illinois)

Trapps put up 35 points, eight rebounds, seven assists and four steals in a 69-44 win over Perkin.

Owen Traynor, Mount Saint Joseph Academy (Vermont)

The senior scored a school record 53 points and grabbed 12 boards in a win over Windsor. Traynor hit eight 3-pointers and 14 of 19 free throws and is averaging 29 points and nine boards.

Jarvis Wright, Charlton County (Georgia)

Wright drained seven three-pointers and finished with 24 points and eight rebounds in a 75-27 win over Lanier.

Kase Wynott, Lapwai (Idaho)

Wynott stayed red-hot for Lapwai, matching his season average of 35 points in a 70-41 victory over Potlatch. It was Lapwai’s 49th consecutive victory. 

Editor’s Note: Our Athlete of the Week feature and corresponding poll is intended to be fun, and we do not set limits on how many times a fan can vote during the competition. However, we do not allow votes that are generated by script, macro or other automated means. Athletes that receive votes generated by script, macro or other automated means will be disqualified.