Skip to main content

Which San Diego Section boys basketball coaches have won the most section titles?


From Ray Johnson to Jim Tomey, the San Diego Section is filled with prominent high school boys basketball coaches. Here's a look at those coaches, ranked by how many CIF San Diego Section boys basketball titles they have won.

1. Zack Jones - Horizon Christian - 10

From 1995 to 2005, Jones won 10 titles for the Panthers in Divisions 4 and 5, only coming up short in 2001.

2 (tie). Jim Tomey - USDHS/Francis Parker - 9

Tomey won his first title at USDHS in Division 3 in 1992 and most recently won the Division 2 championship with Francis Parker in 2018.

2 (tie). Brad Leaf - Steele Canyon/Foothills Christian - 9

Leaf won his first two titles with Steele Canyon in 2004 and 2005. His last seven have come at Foothills Christian, including the 2016 Open Division championship, with his son TJ leading the charge.

Coach Brad Leaf

2 (tie). Randy Wright - Christian/Santa Fe Christian - 9

Wright won four straight titles with Christian from 1988-91 and made the switch to Santa Fe Christian in 2001 where he proceeded to win four more championships over a six-year period.

5. Ray Johnson - El Camino - 8

Johnson won his first championship with the Wildcats in 1986 and most recently in 2009. After coaching at the college level, Johnson returned to lead El Camino once again in 2019. He's the county's all-time wins leader with 788.

Russell Baker

El Camino's Ray Johnson

6 (tie). Mike Haupt - St. Augustine - 6

Haupt won his first title with the Saints in 2001 and is the only coach with two Open Division championships, having won in 2015 and 2017.

Mike Haupt

6 (tie). Ron Lonseki - Lincoln - 6

Loneski won six consecutive section championships with the Hornets from 1988-1993.

Read More

8 (tie). Dave Cassaw - La Costa Canyon - 4

Cassaw won Division 1 titles in 2006 and 2011 and followed it up with an exciting overtime win over Lincoln in the 2012 Division 2 championship. He also led the Mavericks to a win in the inaugural Open Division championship in 2014.

Credit: Anna Scipione

Credit: Anna Scipione

8 (tie). Ollie Goulston - Hoover - 4

Goulston won four Division 2 championships with the Cardinals, in 2006, 2008, 2009 and 2013.

8 (tie). John Singer - Helix - 4

Singer captured his first title for the Highlanders in 2002 and most recently won the 2017 Division 2 championship.

8 (tie). Tom Tarantino - Carlsbad/Bishop's/Army-Navy - 4

Tarantino won his first title with Carlsbad in 2000 and then won again while at Bishop's in 2001. He won again with Bishop's in 2009 before winning most recently with Army-Navy in 2013.

8 (tie). Wallace Williams - Calipatria - 4

Williams won back-to-back Division 5 championships with Calipatria in 1988 and 1989 and then again in 1992 and 1993.

13 (tie). Paul Baldwin - Escondido - 3

Baldwin won back-to-back Division 2 championships in 2003 and 2004. He won again with the Cougars in 2015.

13 (tie). Chad Bickley - Santa Fe Christian - 3

Bickley has led the Eagles to lots of recent success, winning the Division 1 championship in 2017, 2018, and 2020.

13 (tie). Will Cunningham - Cathedral Catholic - 3

Cunningham has led the Dons to three titles during his time as the head coach, winning division three in 2012, division one in 2019, and the open division in 2020.

13 (tie). John Farrell - Torrey Pines - 3

Farrell won titles with the Falcons in 1989, 1992 and 1996, winning those three games by a combined 87 points.

13 (tie). Bazz Fontenot - San Diego - 3

Fontenot has turned around the Cavers program, winning championships in division two, three, and four over the past three seasons.

13 (tie). John Olive - Torrey Pines - 3

Olive led the Falcons to Division 1 championships in 2001 and 2012 before capturing his first Open Division title in 2019.

Credit: Anna Scipione

Credit: Anna Scipione