Skip to main content

NFHS California Coach of the Year nominations from CIF’s Oakland Section


The CIF State Office recently announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year.

“The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs,” per a CIF press release.

SBLive is taking a closer look at the nominees from each of the state’s 10 Sections. Here are the nominees from the Oakland Section:

Orlando Watkins - Oakland - Boys Basketball

Watkins led the Wildcats to the Oakland Section Championship, taking down Oakland Tech in the finals.

Leroy Hurt - Oakland Tech - Girls Basketball

Hurt led Oakland Tech to the Oakland Section Championship and into the CIF State Championship game before the COVID-19 cancellation.

Sean Kohles - Skyline - Boys Cross Country

A graduate of Skyline, Kohles coaches Cross Country and Track & Field for the Titans.

Read More

Richie Boulet - Oakland Tech - Girls Cross Country

A former All-American at Cal, Boulet has coached at Oakland Tech for the past six years.

Joe Bates - Skyline - Football

Bates led the Titans to a 9-3 record and a berth into the OAL Championship game.

James Salazar - Skyline - Girls Golf

Salazar led the Titans to their third consecutive OAL Championship.

Joel Higgins - Oakland Tech - Boys Soccer

Higgins led the Bulldogs to the Oakland Section Championship as well as the D5 Northern California Regional Championship.

Mark Savvides - Oakland Tech - Girls Soccer

Savvides guided the Bulldogs to an 18-1-4 record to capture the Oakland Section Championship.

Lauren Brown - Madison Park Academy - Girls Tennis

Brown led the Trojans to the 2019-20 OAL Championship.

Erica Hansen - Skyline - Girls Volleyball

Hansen led the Titans to the OAL Championship and an appearance in the CIF D5 State playoffs.

Dennis Spencer - Skyline - Boys Wrestling

Spencer helped the Titans capture the OAL Championship.