Skip to main content

Vote now: Who should be SBLive’s California High School Football Coach of the Week (Nov. 24-26)?

Here are the candidates for SBLive’s California High School Coach of the Week for Nov. 24-26 as nominated by our SBLive staff.

Here are the candidates for SBLive’s California High School Coach of the Week for Nov. 24-26 as nominated by fans, readers and SBLive’s staff. Read through the nominees and cast your vote below. Voting will conclude on Sunday, Dec. 4 at 11:59 p.m and the winner will be announced either on Monday, Dec. 5 or Tuesday, Dec. 6. If you would like to nominate a coach, please email or tag us on Twitter or Instagram at @SBLiveCA.

Last week's winner: Troy Cassidy, Granada Hills Kennedy


Nick Baiz, Etiwanda: After trailing 35-9 in the third quarter, Baiz's Etiwanda team battled back to beat St. Francis 45-42 to claim the Division 5 CIF Southern Section championship. 

Jalal Beauchman, Bellarmine-San Jose: Led the Bells to their eighth Central Coast Section title with a 21-14 Division 2 win over St. Ignatius. Beauchman, a former standout at Bellarmine during its heyday who later played wide receiver at San Jose State, took over for legendary coach Mike Janda. The program had fallen on hard times, but in his third season, Beachman led the Bells to another section title, this after injuries led to a four-game losing streak during the WCAL season.

Kellan Cobbs, Granite Hills-El Cajon: Led the Eagles to the Division 2 San Diego Section championship, their first football title in school history. 

Mark Cooley, Pleasant Valley-Chico: Led the Vikings to an unlikely Division 2 Northern Section title with a 10-7 win over Foothill-Palo Cedro, a team it lost to 35-7 just two weeks earlier.

Mark Cory, Clear Lake-Lakeport: Helped pull out one of the most amazing wins in section title-game history, a 56-55 Division 7 win over heavily-favored St. Vincent de Paul. The Cardinals scored 15 unanswered points in the fourth quarter capped with a touchdown and two-point conversion with 17 seconds left.

Josiah Cruz, Classical Academy-Escondido: After going 1-9 last season, Cruz led Classical Academy to a Division 5 championship in San Diego. 

Read More

Jon Ellinghouse, Sierra Canyon-Chatsworth: Under Ellinghouse, Sierra Canyon has won six CIF titles. On Saturday, the Trailblazers beat Inglewood 23-7 to claim the Division 2 crown in the Southern Section. 

Wally Grant, Palo Verde Valley-Blythe: Led the Yellow Jackets to a second straight CIF title in San Diego as a No. 7 seed. Palo Verde beat Fallbrook 33-14.