Skip to main content

Which San Diego Section high school football coaches have won the most section titles?

From John Carroll to Sean Doyle, the San Diego Section is filled with prominent high school football coaches.
Photo by Josh DaFoe

Photo by Josh DaFoe

From John Carroll to Sean Doyle, the San Diego Section is filled with prominent high school football coaches. Here’s a look at those coaches, ranked by how many CIF San Diego Section football titles they have won.

1. John Carroll - Oceanside - 13

Carroll won his first two championships with Oceanside at the Division 3 level in 1995 and 1997. He won 10 more at the Division 2 level between 1999 and 2012. He won the Open Division championship with the Pirates in 2014 and retired after the season having won 13 championships in 26 seasons.



2 (tie). Sean Doyle - USDHS/Cathedral Catholic - 10

Doyle won the Division 3 championship with the Dons in 1998 and 1999 before the school relocated to North County. He won five straight in Division 3 starting in 2007. He's since added a Division 1 championship in 2013 and two Open Division championships in 2016 and 2018.

Photo: Bill Wechter

(Photo: Bill Wechter)

2 (tie). Herb Meyer - Oceanside/El Camino - 10

Meyer won his first two championships at Oceanside, at the 1A level in 1963 and then at the 2A level in 1975 before making the move to El Camino. He won the 2A championship with El Camino during his first season in 1976 and added additional 2A championships in 1982, 1984, 1989, 1990, and 1991. He won again in Division 2 in 1993 and won his final title in 1999 at the Division 1 level.

4 (tie). Rob Gilster - Valley Center -5

Gilster has served as the head coach for all 22 seasons of Valley Center High School Football. He won the first football championship for the school in 2004 at the Division 3 level and has followed it up with four additional titles in Division 4 coming in 2005, 2007, 2008, and 2011.

Read More

4 (tie). Matt Oliver - Christian - 5

Oliver has won five titles for the Patriots coming across three different divisions. They were the Division 5 champions in 2006 and 2011, the Division 4 champions in 2002, and the Division 3 champions in 2013 and 2014.

4 (tie). John Shacklett - Morse - 5

Shacklett won his first title with the Tigers at the 3A level in 1979 and proceeded to win three more at that level in 1988, 1990, and 1992. He won his final title at the Division 1 level in 1994.

7 (tie). Jim Arnaiz - Helix - 4

Arnaiz led the Highlanders to the 2A title in 1978 and followed it up by winning the 3A title in 1980 and 1982. He won his final title at the Division 2 level in 1998.

7 (tie). Ed Burke - Torrey Pines - 4

Burke won his first title for the Falcons in 1992 at the 2A level during his second tenure as their head coach. He followed it up with Division 1 championships in 1997, 2003, and 2004.

7 (tie). Sam Faulk - Holtville - 4

Faulk had an excellent run with the Vikings, winning four consecutive 1A championships from 1989-1992.

7 (tie). Vic Player - Lincoln Prep - 4

Player won three 2A championships with Lincoln in 1977, 1979, and 1980 during his first tenure as head coach. Player returned three seasons later to win an additional 2A championship in 1986.

7 (tie). Brian Sipe - Santa Fe Christian - 4

Sipe, the 1966 CIF San Diego Section Player of the Year while at Grossmont, won four Division 4 championships with the Eagles coming in 2001, 2003, 2004, and 2006.

Photo: Peggy Peattie

(Photo: Peggy Peattie)