Skip to main content

Medina quarterback Drew Allar is named Ohio Mr. Football

The future Penn State Nittany Lion completed 305-of-509 passes for 4,444 yards and 48 touchdowns along with just seven interceptions.
Mike Cook_St. Edward_Medina.1

Senior Medina quarterback Drew Allar was named Ohio Mr. Football on Thursday after leading his Bees to their first league title since 1973.

Allar completed 305-of-509 passes for 4,444 yards and 48 touchdowns to go along with just seven interceptions. He also rushed for 382 yards and nine touchdowns, leading Medina to a 13-1 season, with its only loss coming to eventual state champion St. Edward in the regional final.

The Bees broke the 1922 and 1923 program record for victories in a season (10) and won the Greater Cleveland Conference for the first time since 1973.

Springfield quarterback Te’Sean Smoot finished second and Upper Arlington running back Carson Gresock took third.

The other finalists were St. Clairsville offensive lineman Avery Henry, Keystone running back/linebacker Gideon Lampron, Archbold quarterback D.J. Newman, Western Brown quarterback Drew Novak, Marysville linebacker/running back Gabe Powers and Ridgewood quarterback Gabe Tingle.

The 6-foot-5, 230-pound Allar will be playing for Penn State next season.

(Feature photo by Mike Cook)

Ohio Mr. Football through the years (including college choice)

1987: Buster Howe, RB-DB-K-P, Zanesville, Ohio State

1988: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State

1989: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State

1990: Bobby Hoying, QB, St. Henry, Ohio State

1991: Derek Kidwell, QB-DE, Fostoria, Bowling Green

1992: Marc Edwards, RB-LB, Norwood, Notre Dame

1993: Curtis Enis, RB-LB, Mississinawa Valley, Penn State

1994: Charles Woodson, DB-RB, Fremont Ross, Michigan

1995: Andy Katzenmoyer, LB, Westerville South, Ohio State

1996: Derek Combs, RB-DB-KR, Grove City, Ohio State

1997: Tony Fisher, RB, Euclid, Notre Dame

1998: Ryan Brewer, RB, Troy, South Carolina

1999: Bam Childress, DB-WR-KR, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Ohio State

Read More

2000: Jeff Backes, RB-DB, Upper Arlington, Northwestern

2001: Maurice Clarett, RB, Warren G. Harding, Ohio State

2002: Ben Mauk, QB, Kenton, Wake Forest/Cincinnati

2003: Ray Williams, RB, Cleveland Benedictine, West Virginia

2004: Tyrell Sutton, RB, Archbishop Hoban, Northwestern

2005: Delone Carter, RB, Copley, Syracuse

2006: Brandon Saine, RB, Piqua, Ohio State

2007: Bart Tanski, QB, Mentor, Bowling Green

2008: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2009: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron

2010: Akise Teague, RB-DB-KR, Youngstown Ursuline, Cincinnati

2011: Maty Mauk, QB, Kenton, Missouri/Eastern Kentucky

2012: Mitch Trubisky, QB, Mentor, North Carolina

2013: Dante Booker Jr., LB, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Ohio State

2014: Joe Burrow, QB, Athens, Ohio State, Louisiana State

2015: Keishaun Sims, RB-DB, Massillon Perry, Ashland University

2016: Michael Warren, RB, Toledo Central Catholic, University of Cincinnati

2017: Joey Baughman, QB, Wadsworth, Elon University

2018: Cade Stover, SS-RB, Lexington, Ohio State

2019: Evan Prater, QB, Cincinnati Wyoming, University of Cincinnati

2020: Corey Kiner, RB, Cincinnati Roger Bacon, Louisiana State

2021: Drew Allar, QB, Penn State